jump to navigation

Why Mc Donald’s is so Dangerous! Also Shortened Lifespans for Kids; The Latest Threat to National Security…OBESITY! Plus 2 New articles and MORE!! April 25, 2010

Posted by fitmontclair in Fat Loss, Fitness, Health & Exercise, Injury Prevention, Nutrition.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Hi Again!

This week I will be keeping things short (if possible). We have more news on the obesity epidemic, shocking McDonald’s information, **Research showing obesity is shortening lifespan of kids**, my 2 NEW articles have been published (scroll down for the links) and we are getting close to the start of my May in Montclair events!

Next Saturday is May 1st and my first May in Montclair event is scheduled for 10:00am Saturday at Brookdale park. I will be uploading an event detail page to this blog soon (so watch for it!). More IMPORTANTLY everyone who is interested in attending MUST RSVP NO LATER THEN WEDNESDAY APRIL 28TH! – NO EXCEPTIONS!

On to some more interesting obesity news! (after this week no more obesity posts for a while – I promise!)

Not only does obesity: increase heart disease, cancer, strokes, diabetes, and joint pain – it is now considered a threat to National Security!


I hope we are NOT depending on him to chase down & stop terrorists……

From the Baltimore Sun (Click here for the original article):

“National security is threatened by the sharp rise in obesity rates for young people over the last 15 years, the group Mission: Readiness contends. Weight problems are now the leading medical reason that recruits are rejected, the group says, and thus jeopardize the military’s ability to fill its ranks.

In a report released Tuesday, the group says that 9 million young adults, or 27 percent of all Americans ages 17 to 24, are too fat to join the military. The retired officers were on Capitol Hill advocating for passage of a wide-ranging nutrition bill that aims to make the nation’s school lunches healthier.”

** 2013 article link update:  Sorry about the dead Baltimore Sun article link;  it worked for years… I guess once again someone in charge does NOT want the TRUTH to be known!  Here is a link to a similar article on the SAME topic from the Washington Post: http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/04/29/AR2010042903669.html

 

And from the Marine Corps Times:

“U.S. military-age youth are increasingly unfit to serve — mostly because they’re in such lousy shape.

According to the latest Pentagon figures, a full 35 percent, or more than one-third, of the roughly 31.2 million Americans aged 17 to 24 are unqualified for military service because of physical and medical issues. And, said Curt Gilroy, the Pentagon’s director of accessions, “the major component of this is obesity. We have an obesity crisis in the country. There’s no question about it.”

Please click on the  link below to go to the video – The original video was removed from Youtube (pretty convenient) but THIS LINK WILL TAKE YOU TO IT:

Click here for  Fox News video report: TOO FAT TO FIGHT!(I can’t embed the video due to copyright laws)

** I also have to apologize for the Marine Times link, for years the article was FREE! For those that do not wish to purchase a subscription, here is a link to the Military’s PDF file: Mission Readiness (or “Too fat to fight””) Where top US Military leaders want JUNK FOOD OUT OF SCHOOLS – it is NOT perfect but it is a hell of a lot better than the USDA Food Pyramid!!

http://cdn.missionreadiness.org/MR_Too_Fat_to_Fight-1.pdf


Here’s a major reason we are so UNFIT, UNHEALTHY, SICKLY & OBESE:

THE LITTLE LIGHTS ARE :  All the Mc Donald’s locations in the USA!!!

The furthest distance between 2 Mc Donald’s is 100 miles  – NOW YOU KNOW WHY THEY ARE SO DANGEROUS, THERE ARE JUST TOO MANY!!

This map is just for Mc Donald’s – could you imagine if it had all the other fast food chains, pizzerias, bakeries, and 7-11’s – EVERY INCH WOULD BE COMPLETELY COVERED!

Are you still “Lovin it….”

Did you know that the current generation of children is the FIRST GENERATION THAT HAS A PREDICTED LIFESPAN SHORTER THAN THEIR PARENTS!! Think about that next time you are food shopping or going out for Fast Food!

From The New England Journal of Medicine March 17th 2005: Researchers at the University of Illinois predict that within 50 years the average life span will decline by at least two to five years. The culprit? Obesity. The alarming rise in obesity is likely to have more impact than either cancer or heart disease. Here is a link to the National Institutes of Health summary of the  NEJM article (in case you don’t have NEJM access)

Researchers say this trend has shaved four to nine months off the average life span already. Obesity currently affects at least 15 percent of U.S. school-age children and experts expect these numbers to rise. We are facing the troubling possibility of becoming the first generation in modern history to live shorter lives than their parents.

According to a CNN report, medical research indicates the shortened lifespan can be up to a DECADE! click here for the CNN Article.


Enough about obesity – I think you all get the picture of how serious an EPIDEMIC IT IS!!! –Just remember the research from the last 2 obesity posts shows it begins in early childhood and INFANTS & CHILDREN DON’T HAVE MONEY TO BUY FOOD (They eat what they are given by their parents and schools!)


My 2 latest articles have been published! The second part of my shoulder injury prevention article “Unlocking the box!” has been published in the June 2010 of Men’s Exercise – On sale until June 13th 2010

(Click on the links or logos to read the articles in full)

The April 2010 Town Medical Associates Newsletter has part 2 of my abdominal training article: The “ABS” solute truth – or Safe abdominal exercises part -2.

Well that’s all for now! – I still have a lot of great posts in the works including: The Danger of GMO Food, The conclusion of the “Abdominal Myths” series, “Are stability balls really just a F.A.D (forthcoming anatomical dysfunction)” and a lot more including “Why your microwave oven is really cooking your family 24-7!” – That is going to be one NOT TO MISS!

Stay healthy & Strong (Stay away from Mc Donald’s and all the others!)

Gordon

ADVANCED FITNESS CONCEPTS

Using Science to Maximize Health & Performance



Comments»

1. phillip Washington - May 5, 2010

really enjoy the article

fitmontclair - May 5, 2010

Thanks for the comment Phillip!

I am glad you liked the post. while I try to cover something interesting in every post I feel that one was very important because of the shortened lifespan for kids data. Every person I talk to was totally unaware of the situation or the research. Check back often for more posts like this one.

Have a great day!

Gordon!

p.s you might want to look through some of my previous blog posts for similar topics.

2. tom venuto - November 29, 2011

I’m extremely inspired with your writing skills as neatly as with the format in your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it your self? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s uncommon to peer a nice blog like this one today..

fitmontclair - November 29, 2011

WOW!!

If this is the REAL Tom Venuto I am honored that you like my blog!

I love your “burn the fat, feed, the muscle” program and the promo shot of you being drug free and under 6% body fat has always been an inspiration!

The theme for the blog is one I just picked from WordPress; I have a client who is a web genius and he sets up my blog,webpage, etc. I just write the copy.

As far as the material, I just piece together what I read & learn from the web, lectures, seminars, etc. My goal is just to tell the truth and tell it for FREE! Notice I don’t have any paid advertising or sponsors for my blog. I don’t want anyone to ever think I have been bought off I may at times appear biased but that is my opinions based on the material in the posts – NEVER BECAUSE I HAVE ACCEPTED MONEY OR AN ADVERTISING FEE! Like I tell my clients, I am on their payroll only, so I never lie and I always try to obtain the best info possible for them for if they don’t get results I am out of a job!

I believe crucial info that people need should be free, so much so that all my workshops & seminars (unless custom designed) are free as are all the magazine & newsletter articles I write.

Here is a link to my FREE article database: http://www.advanced-fitness-concepts.com/a_f_c/articles/

Thanks for taking the time to read & comment on my blog; I hope you can make good use of the info. Please feel to place links to the blog, forward it to anyone you think the info can help! All I ask is credit for the writing; I always credit anyone I use in my blog posts; I believe it is just being polite and appreciative of their work and that is all I ask in return.

WATCH FOR NEW POSTS COMING SOON!!!

Have a great day!

Gordon

3. supplements canada - April 18, 2012

Enjoyed every bit of your blog. Much obliged.

fitmontclair - June 4, 2012

Thanks! So glad you enjoyed it; please feel free to pass it on or place links anyplace that it can help inform people of the truth!

Have a great day!

Gordon

4. protein powders - April 21, 2012

I really liked your blog article.Much thanks again. Keep writing.

fitmontclair - June 4, 2012

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed the blog; keep watching for new posts – they are coming!!

Gordon


Leave a Reply

